DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

RSJ install procedure?

Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
bandekk

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:42 pm Reply with quote

I have a single story extension with lean to roof and with a 3.6m opening for bifolding doors and plan on fitting 2 RSJ's across this span, 1 on each cavity wall. As I've never done this before can I check the installation procedure for this.

- RSJ's will be about 4m in length, going to get them pre drilled to fit some wood on the underside, making it easier to attach/fit door frame, and wall plate on top.

- BC have stated RSJ's need to be bolted together, is its holes at 450 centres, then as these are I beams, nog out the gap and bolt together, or are there special brackets?

- Sit both RSJ's on 2/3 courses of engineering bricks, no specific fixing required, just brick round / bed in ?

- Want to lay row of bricks within lintel, anything to know, or just lay 'em

- BC havent asked for SE report, so I'm just going by the steel supplier's knowledge, sound ok?

thanks
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Static

from United Kingdom

United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:44 am Reply with quote

bandekk wrote:
- BC have stated RSJ's need to be bolted together, is its holes at 450 centres, then as these are I beams, nog out the gap and bolt together, or are there special brackets?

Normally tubular steel sleeves are used as timber is too compressible, talk to your steel fabricator..

Quote:
- Sit both RSJ's on 2/3 courses of engineering bricks, no specific fixing required, just brick round / bed in ?