Partial rewire: regulations advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Gents,

Just completing on a house, which at some point in the past has had a partial rewire, but is a bit of a messy job, surface mounted wires and sockets etc. I'd like to have these all sunk, sink the sockets etc, new CU to tidy up under the stairs.

Now I'm no electrician, but I can competently do any monkey work required. I do however have two very good friends willing to help me (ie make sure I dont kill myself or someone else) who are both 17th Ed. certified, and have many years experience, one of which regularly works with high voltage. They work for industry, they're not domestic sparky's. They know the regs, know what works to the regs, but aren't part of one of the 'competent person' schemes.

So - in order for the work to be 'legal' - what steps do I need to take with BC (if I find BC needs to be notified)? If I need to notify BC, do I do it before the work is carried out, and then once the install is completed, but before the wires are covered, floorboards put back down etc, for inspection?

I've read through the electrical section on here, and on many other sites on Part P, but it still doesn't make this scenarios clear to me.

Any advice/copiuos amounts of constructive criticism (from BAS ;) ) welcomed!

Sponsored Links
the CU is notifiable and it's one fee for all work so tell them about all of it while you're at it.. most of it probably isn't notifiable unless it's in a kitchen or "special location" ( ie bathroom etc. ).

you need to notify ( and pay ) before you start work then tell them when you've first fixed ( but before patching the chases etc ) so they can come and see that it's all in the right places etc, and they tell them again when you're all done so they can send someone to test and inpect it ( at no extra cost to you.. make sure thay don't try and make you pay extra. ) and then they issue you with a compliance certificate..