Plumber charges - does this sound reasonable?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hiya,

I started a thread earlier about replairing my leaky cylinder.
Have just had the plumber out and it seems we do need a replacement cylinder (after them trying several other options first).
It is an Economy 7 cylinder with two immersion heaters.
He has quoted 200 + vat for the cylinder, says he can't re-use the immersion heaters from our exiting cylinder, so those need replacing too.
So all in, has quoted
Does this sound fair?
Just for re-assurance purposes, as what do i know!

Many thanks & much appreciation.

mod

please see [item9

Sponsored Links
Complete quote is - 400 for some reason that did not show on my original mail, sorry.

mod

please see ITEM 9

I'm not a professional plumber, but last year I replaced a hot water cyliner with an identical model. The job took half a day because althougth I thought the existing pipe couplings would mate exactly with the new cylinder, I still had to chop out some of the older pipework and solder in new sections to make a good the connections. Also, I had to wait arround for 45 mins to drain the cylinder and header tank. I re-fitted the old emersion but fitted a new gasket.

The new cylinder cost £105. Why not search around on the internet to see how much your cylider costs, and if your still unhappy, use the golden rule - GET MORE QUOTES.

Sponsored Links
i have had 2 plumbing jobs done recently

1 a complete bathroom suite tear out and replace..i bought the new suite
£340 one man for nearly 8 hours and a come back for an hour next day to do some odds and ends..sealers etc...
hardware..3 flexibles..2 traps..some speedfixpipe and fittings and a toilet waste adapter..

2 a rad added to my c.h...i bought the rad
£140 two men for 4 hours
hardware...some speedfix and fittings..floorboarding.

both i feel were well worth the cash..!!

ps..i also had a joiner doing a wall and doorway
£280 man and mate for 6-7 hours