DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

No power to baxi boiler or control panel


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
reevsy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Plymouth,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:00 pm Reply with quote

Good evening,

I have a problem with my Baxi Boiler (Solo HE Range) and its control panel. There is no power going to the boiler or control panel. I have checked the fuse and that is OK.

Any Ideas where to look next?

Regards
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 47568
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1757 times

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:13 pm Reply with quote

How did you determine that there is no power going to the boiler or control panel?

Does the circuit supplying the boiler supply anything else?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
reevsy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Plymouth,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:20 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for reply.

The control panel had a orange back light that was always on this is now out but still has digits that are still visible. The buttons have no effect on the boiler.

I guess im guessing that there is no power going to it, the boiler is 10 months old. It would appear to have no power going to it?!?

As you can see I'm a DIY noob, any suggestion appreciated.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 47568
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1757 times

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 8:58 pm Reply with quote

Where/how is the boiler connected to an electricity supply?

You say you checked the fuse - what fuse? Where?

Does the circuit supplying the boiler supply anything else?

Do you have a multimeter?

You need to find out for sure if power is getting to the boiler or not. If not you need to find out what is stopping it, and where, if it is then you need someone to fix the boiler. Or check on the CH forum - should be safe enough to ask about this.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
joe-90

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Oct 2005
Posts: 29255
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 855 times

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 9:00 pm Reply with quote

Isn't it under warranty?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
reevsy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Plymouth,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 9:05 pm Reply with quote

Many thanks.

I checked the fuse that is on the switch plate (looks like a light switch). fuse comes out on a tray.

I dont know what else os on the same circuit either, sorry. I have a multi meter, Ill follow your advice thanks.

Gavin
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
reevsy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Plymouth,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 9:08 pm Reply with quote

joe-90 wrote:
Isn't it under warranty?


Yes it is. Just seeing if i is a easy fix.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
1john

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 3349
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 340 times

PostPosted: Wed May 26, 2010 10:03 pm Reply with quote

Prob blown the 2amp fast blow fuse in the boiler which fuses the supply to the PCB.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
bongos

from United Kingdom

Joined: 07 Jul 2007
Posts: 996
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 78 times

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:01 am Reply with quote

reevsy wrote:
I checked the fuse that is on the switch plate (looks like a light switch). fuse comes out on a tray.

How did you check the fuse?

Is there anything else on this circuit? Are you able to open the FCU and chek for 230v using your multimeter?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 47568
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1757 times

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:05 am Reply with quote

Or look into 1john's idea - the reason I suggested asking on the CH forum was in case someone said "Baxi Solo HE? Yeah - well known for <some-fault-or-other> - check that first".
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
reevsy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 May 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Plymouth,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 9:01 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for all replies. I have found the problem to be the timer/conrol unit. Power is not being sent to the boiler.

At least its not the boiler icon_lol.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
No power getting to a Baxi boiler 72 1380 Fri Sep 20, 2013 10:24 am
Wiring Diagram for a BAXI WM 511 RS boiler needed 2 1060 Thu Apr 27, 2006 1:41 pm
Drayton wireless RF1 & BAXI 105e boiler query. 9 1180 Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:15 pm
Fuse on a Baxi Solo 2 5 100 Tue Nov 27, 2012 11:13 am
WIFI Thermostat with BAXI 105 HE 2 140 Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:13 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.