valiant ecotech pro 28 & drayton digistat 3

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there.

New to the forum but I have the above valiant boiler. I have bought a new stat which is a drayton digistat 3 wired version.

I know the boiler has the connections 3 - 4 - 5 for an external 240v.

The stat has 3 connections common - load on - load off.

I am familiar with wiring diagrams and the like as I work in the air conditioning industry but I am not 100% sure which goes to which.

Connection 3 on the boiler has a 240v signal so that will be my common ????

Connection 4 is my load on ???????

Connection 5 is my load off ??????

Is this correct ????

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
You only use the common and ON (make on temperature drop) terminals. The OFF terminal (make on temperature rise) is really there when the controller is used for cooling systems.

So 3 to Common and 4 to ON.

You only use the common and ON (make on temperature drop) terminals. The OFF terminal (make on temperature rise) is really there when the controller is used for cooling systems.

So 3 to Common and 4 to ON.

Tried that and it doesn't work.

The small flame signal comes on the controller but the boiler doesn't fire up.

Replaced the batteries in the controller as well just incase they were run down.

If I only need to use 2 connections on the boiler how come there are 3 ?

Thanks

Tried that and it doesn't work. The small flame signal comes on the controller but the boiler doesn't fire up. Replaced the batteries in the controller as well just in case they were run down.
The boiler requires a permanent 230v supply. Have you checked for voltage between L and N terminals on the boiler?

Disconnect the wires to stat from 3 and 4, then short terminals 3 and 4 together; the boiler should run continuously. If it doesn't there is a problem with the boiler. If the boiler runs, there is a problem with the thermostat or the wiring. You can find out which by a process of elimination.