DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

connect freeview to a lcd monitor via vga


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daddykarl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:16 am Reply with quote

hi i want to connect my freeview box to a comp monitor that is lcd what leads do i need and how will i do it thanks karl icon_cool.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
plugwash

from United Kingdom

Joined: 28 Mar 2004
Posts: 8543
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 221 times

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 12:48 pm Reply with quote

With difficutly is the answer, the problem is monitors are generally designed to run at 60Hz minimum non-interlaced and british TV is 50Hz interlaced. You can get converter boxes (e.g. http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/view_product_standard.php?product=84&sub1=54&show=54) but they aren't particularlly cheap (the one I linked is over 100) and the scan rate conversion may well cause unwanted motion artifacts. You can get cheaper convert boxes without scan conversion but there is no gaurantee they will work with your monitor.

If your monitor has a DVI input you may be able to connect it to an upscaling freeview box with a DVI to HDMI lead but this will only work if your monitor supports the HDTV resoloutions (if it's a 16:9 monitor it probablly will).

I've looked into connecting TV stuff to a PC monitor before and concluded it's too much of a PITA to be worth it. I tried using a HDTV as a monitor but failed to get a shapr pixel out of it. In the end I bit the bullet and bought a LG M2762D "monitor TV" which solved the problem nicely. They also do a 22 inch version M2262D with much the same specs.
Back to top
The following user says thank you to plugwash for this useful post:
daddykarl (20 Jun 2010)
 Alert Moderators
daddykarl

from United Kingdom

Joined: 17 Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 1:26 pm Reply with quote

thanks for your advice
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ChrisFrost

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 213 times

PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 1:29 pm Reply with quote

If you expected to spend a fiver on a cable then you should prepare yourself for a disappointment icon_lol.gif Unless your computer monitor accepts a 15kHz signal (and most don't) then a cable on its own won't work. Despite what the ads from Chinese vendors on Ebay try to tell you, a simple cable with what looks like the right ends on doesn't do the job needed - as lots of folk who have bought cheap Chinese cables from Ebay have since found out. They'll only work for certain plasma screens and LCD TVs that accept 15kHz via a VGA socket.

You need something to convert the video signal from the Freeview box into a data VGA signal that the PC will understand. That "something" is a scaler.

Here's something that will work... Keene Composite/s-video to XGA/SXGA/WXGA convertor ...and for the job it does it's pretty cheap. You'll need some cables to go with this - maybe a SCART to composite video, and a VGA cable for connecting to the monitor.

If you just want to watch TV on or near the computer then there a few alternative solutions:
USB Freeview tuner - 33
PCI card Freeview tuner - 55
..or how about a 19" TV that doubles as a PC monitor... LG 19" 140
Back to top
The following user says thank you to ChrisFrost for this useful post:
daddykarl (20 Jun 2010)
 Alert Moderators
ericmark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Jan 2008
Posts: 7609
Location: Flintshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 644 times

PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:23 am Reply with quote

I bought a PCI card with digital only input from Aldi and although it does what it says on the box I wish after I had got one with analogue input as I now have Sky relayed through out the house but it needs an analogue receiver. No DVD, VCR, or Sky box gives a digital output on coax and although you may be able to use phono or other direct connections coax will not work and coax is the easy cheap way to transfer TV signals.

I also found the card not as good at receiving as a Freeview TV and I can't get some MUX's on PC.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Behringer 1C Monitor Speakers 8 260 Mon Jan 02, 2012 2:04 pm
Connect spare passive HiFi speakers direct to laptop? 10 220 Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:12 pm
How to connect four tellys to a satellite 16 520 Mon Aug 04, 2014 2:52 pm
Connect Blue Ray DVD to my old tv 4 140 Sat Dec 31, 2011 8:25 am
How to connect freesat tv from existing sky plus dish lnb 3 11500 Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:19 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.