Bare rough plaster requiring painting - (I'm a newbie!)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi Everyone.

This is my first time on this site so excuse my lack of terminology.

I have just stripped lining paper from my bedroom, which has been there since we bought the property.

Underneath it appears the walls have been plastered over plaster, as some of the newer layer has come off around places where screws have been used to put up curtain poles.

The original and new plaster appears to have never been painted or have any sort of coating applied. The last home owner literally papered the lining paper straight onto the plaster.

The plaster while flat and straight, has a very rough surface - not like newly skimmed walls i have seen in the past, and has minute tiny bubbles all over it, almost giving a sandpaper type finish.

When any holes are drilled into said layers the drill completely shreds the surrounding area and does not make a cylindrical hole!

My questions are:

1 - Is this plaster in good enough condition to paint over or do i need to get rid of it all? (As long as i never need to put any more wall fixings into it)

2 - Do i need to apply any sort of PVA or coatings before even applying the first coat of paint?

3 - is it ok to paper over this or does it also need paint before papering?

4 - Where there are cracks and missing areas small can i just use polycell?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Hi Everyone.

This is my first time on this site so excuse my lack of terminology.

I have just stripped lining paper from my bedroom, which has been there since we bought the property.

Underneath it appears the walls have been plastered over plaster, as some of the newer layer has come off around places where screws have been used to put up curtain poles.

The original and new plaster appears to have never been painted or have any sort of coating applied. The last home owner literally papered the lining paper straight onto the plaster.