Wood floor - chicken or egg type question!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, another newbie here with possibly a stupid question!

We are in the process of renovating our house and I'm wondering what order to do things in...

We want to put down a new wood floor in the whole of our downstairs, including kitchen. I was planning to do this last, after all the building work and decoration has finished (previous primer spillage incident on newly sanded floor still a painful memory).

However, we are getting a new kitchen fitted and I don't know how it would work with laying the floor after this has been done. My main concern is clearance between top of appliances and the underside of the worktops, particularly as think we will need to lay ply and possibly underlay on top of existing wooden floorboards? (will probably go for engineered flooring and want the slats to run same way as current floorboards which are not entirely level).

Current clearance between top of dishwasher and worktop is only about 10mm and we're keeping the dishwasher!

Is there a way around this e.g. shaving underside of worktop or something or should we be laying the floor before the kitchen goes in and trying to protect it during rest of renovation? Or third option do we get worktops put in a bit higher and then adjust height of cabinet legs when new floor goes in - in which case how much clearance will we need?

Thanks for any advice!

Bibimac

Sponsored Links
Unless you want to cover the whole floor (which is not necessary) decide on your flooring and have your kitchen installed with the levels in mind. In other words allow for the floor and set your heights accordingly. Have your floor installed after the kitchen. If you decide to install it first then you will have to prrotect it well whilst the kitchen is done. I've started blogging this sort of stuff on wood floor designs.blogspot.com.