Problem fitting electric shower unit

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a novice DIYer (I can hear the groans already!). I've just bought my first house and I am having to do a lot of the required work myself due to a tight budget. I'm currently replacing my electric shower with a, basically, like-for-like model (Gainsborough Stanza 8.5kW): I've removed the old unit, fitted a chrome elbow compression fitting to the water pipe that comes in through the wall (replacing the old brass one that was badly corroded), and mounted the new unit on the wall...
...my problem is, the inlet pipe on the shower unit is plastic, yet the installation guide says it must be connected to the water supply via a 15mm compression elbow, using a copper olive (which is supplied). But the compression elbow does not fit tightly to the plastic pipe and can quite easily be slid back and forth, so when I turn the water on the pressure causes the elbow to slide straight off the pipe and soak my bathroom!
I have read the installation guide aver and over but this is the only direction it gives. I'm sure the solution is simple but it is driving me crazy. Please help!

Thanks,
Don

Sponsored Links
If you can post some images it might help to see what the problem is, not familiar with the shower your talking about, but fittings yes !

Put the compression nut onto the plastic pipe first, then slide the olive onto the pipe, and screw the nut onto the elbow's thread. Tighten a half turn with a spanner. This will push the olive into the ebow and form the seal.

Watch this video. The only differences are that one of your pipes will be plastic, not copper (the inlet pipe on the shower), and your fitting is a right-angle.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9c5LWFI_M4

Put the compression nut onto the plastic pipe first, then slide the olive onto the pipe, and screw the nut onto the elbow's thread. Tighten a half turn with a spanner. This will push the olive into the ebow and form the seal.