Is this allowed? Light fitting (with pictures)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

I'm wanting to change the bathroom light fitting in our newly built home.

I've got a nice new bathroom light as I wanted to change the standard "globe" light that the builders put it.

My problem is when I took their light down I saw this...:

diynot1.jpg

No earth, no red sleeves. I'm no professional but I know what to expect!! This isn't it!

diynot2.jpg

Can you see the terminal block stuffed into the ceiling void? It's got three wires in it, presumably the lives. No tape wrapped around it at all.

So here I am trying to do a job properly, with my chocbox ready etc etc and this is what I find.

Is this 'legal'? Do I need to get the builders in to tear the ceiling apart or should I turn a blind eye and do what they do?

And another question if anyone has the time. My new light fitting is flush to the ceiling, how do I get a chocbox in that small gap, when the wires are fed through a hole through a ceiling joist??

Simon.

Sponsored Links
If you get up in the loft above the bathroom you will be able to find the junction box without pulling the ceiling down. The old light can be disconnected and lowered down to a helper in the bathroom so it doesn't drop. Now simply feed the wires from the new light fitting through the same route as the old one and connect as required at the junction box. You should not use chock block.

Above the bathroom is another floor, so I can't go into the loft and the floor above is laminated so I can't take the floorboards up!!

Will it be possible to pull the wires up and out and take them out of the hole in the joist or is that too difficult? I'm now wondering what the electrician will do when the builder sends him round.

The alternative is to just forget about it and leave it as it is?

Simon.