DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Aerial Connection for Loft


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
TaxiMike

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Location: London,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:39 pm Reply with quote

I have just bought a property and in each room there are aerial sockets for televisions.
Similar to this:
https://lovedigitaltv.co.uk/images/public/products/100-1-zoom.jpg

This is a Faceplate Multiservice with a phone connector, 2 things for satellite, an aerial socket and a fm radio socket.

This seems to lead to the loft where there are 4 cables that do not connect to anything. I assume this is for connecting up this device.
Each of the cables has 2 wires inside and it's not that clear which wire is for which socket, although I can work that out with trial and error.

I just want to install an aerial in the loft but looking at the type of wire it looks to be different.

I was looking at getting this aerial:
71-Element High-Gain Digital TV Aerial

This has an F-socket for aerial cable.

I want to connect this to the wires I have but shouldn't there just be one wire for connecting the aerial rather than the 2 I have?
Or is this sorted when you add a connector to the end of the wire?

I looked at a guide for How to wire a Belling-Lee connector and this only shows 1 wire.

This guide seems to suggest they are all double satellite cables perhaps...
http://www.aerialsandtv.com/cableandleads.html

Any advice would be welcome, thanks a lot.


Last edited by TaxiMike on Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
ChrisFrost

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 1025
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 213 times

PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:02 pm Reply with quote

can you take some pictures of what you have?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
TaxiMike

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Location: London,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:19 am Reply with quote

Yes, I will take some photos tonight.

How much detail do you want for the images?
One of the sockets and one of the cables in the loft?

I am now wondering if each box has a wire that connects to the loft or if they are connected in series so that each connector on the box has a cable in the loft.

Thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
OwainDIYer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 2998
Location: Stirlingshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 421 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 2:42 pm Reply with quote

TaxiMike wrote:
I have just bought a property and in each room there are aerial sockets for televisions.

This is a Faceplate Multiservice with a phone connector, 2 things for satellite, an aerial socket and a fm radio socket.


You would normally have a distribution amp / multiswitch in the loft that takes input from aerial, satellite dish, etc and combines it all on to the downleads as required.

EG Loftbox http://www.tvlink.co.uk/loftbox.htm
Back to top
The following user says thank you to OwainDIYer for this useful post:
TaxiMike (7 Oct 2010)
 Alert Moderators
TaxiMike

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Location: London,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 3:19 pm Reply with quote

Yes, that looks like potentially what I am after.

It's annoying that the seller didn't bother to connect one of these already, but there were a lot of things like this that he seemed to forget to do.

It looks like this is going to take me a lot longer to work out what is going on, as well as somehow getting power to the loft for this device.

This is what I have in each room but without the return socket (or more likely I didn't notice the return socket):

http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/triax_304114.htm
http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/wall_plates.htm

I should just be able to connect the wires up to the loft box and then connect the aerial to that as well and that would work, although, in the diagram for loftbox it shows only aerials going to each room and this box being just in the living room, do you think that will be a problem?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
OwainDIYer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 May 2010
Posts: 2998
Location: Stirlingshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 421 times

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 6:05 pm Reply with quote

The bedroom sockets get their satellite from the RF out on the Sky box which is sent back to the loftbox using the 'return' wire. They watch it by tuning the TV into whichever channel the satellite is modulated on to by th Sky box.

Not sure whether the video will be available instead of Sky or if the video will be modulated on to another channel.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Audio Visual All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Fireproof box for aerial amplifier in the loft 4 1060 Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:58 am
Loft aerial install 10 540 Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:35 pm
loft aerial for 3 storey house 2 120 Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:08 pm
Loft aerial to tv - connections query 5 140 Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:12 pm
Aerial in loft 14 320 Wed Feb 22, 2012 6:18 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.