Zanussi 1050 Quick N Clean problem!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm no expert, but am prepared to try anything to rectify this problem we have just had.

last night the machine was switched on, and water started leaking from the 'powder/conditioner tray/compartment' Also, the machine won't 'fast spin'. It does the slow spin fine, but when it tries to fast spin, you can hear the motor(I think thats what I can hear??) start whirring up, but then immediately stops, and it carries on limping along with a slow spin intermittently...

Also, for a while now, the machine occasionally leaves dirty marks on random clothing items.

Please help urgently! Im prepared to try anything, else it looks like a new one (which I am unable to pay for!)

Shaun

Sponsored Links
When you say it leaked from the soap drawer, do you mean it filled right to the top of the drum then overflowed from the soap drawer? The dirty marks could indicate bearing failure but might just be a blocked filter, preventing the machine from rinsing properly. If it is over-filling you most likely have a choked water level presure vessel. This could also cause the spin behaviour you describe as the spin is inhibited until the pressure switch signals that the water level is low enough.

Hi, Thanks for the fast reply :)

We've just drained it and tried it again to confirm what happened last night.

We've just started it again. It fills up, to a lower level than normally, according to my wife. It is filling to just below the level of the door glass.

This time, the water did not come out of the soap drawer, it appears that may have been an isolated incident, as, prior to this test, I cleaned out the filter at the bottom of the washer, and I also withdrew the soap tray and cleaned all the orifices inside it (a lot of gunk inside).

So, previously, I can answer NO, it did not fill to the top of the drum and overflow.

1- it fills slightly
2. It slow spins
3. It tries to fast spin, but no luck.