Boilermate OV A-Class - Boiler Pump is always ON

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I have Boilermate OV A-Class installed at home that we have recently moved in. I have realised boiler pump is allways on (i.e. boilermate's hot water function demands heat always). When I have opened up the boiler and checked the circuit board I have realised Middle sensor set to 75C for OFF. And When I have checked stored water temperature, it can reach max of 73C (this is with max setting at boiler). So due to heat loss etc. stored water cannot reach max temperature required by Boilermate which results in constant heat demand from boiler. Easy solution for me is to be able to reprogram the Middle sensor set point to a lower value (e.g. 72C) but I do not know if I can do it.
I appreciate if you know how to do it.

P.S. I am an electronics engineer and I might be able to reprogram IC on the board if I can find out data locations.

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Here is an idea:

I think midpoint sensor is NTC so I need to add a resistor in parallel to make PCB think that stored wtare temperature is more hot. I need to measure NTC resistor to gind out its spec then add a potentiometer to tweak the value then I can add fixed resistor!

thats ok if you understand that.
scratch-head02-idea-animated-animat.gif

Easier solution is turn the boiler stat up. The boiler needs to be run on max with a thermal store.

Sponsored Links
Then it should be getting the store up to temperature.

How have you tested the temp of the store?

On the PCB there are two push buttons and you can go through all the sensor readins as well as set points. There is a 7 segment two digit display which shows the values.
Thanks

I wonder if I reduce the boiler pump speed Do I get temperature increase due to the fact that water will spend more time in the boiler while heated! Pump is at max speed currently!

You need to know how hot the boiler flow is first.