Lime Render for Inside Of Chimney Breast

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I want to apply a lime render to the inside walls of my fireplace, into which I am installing a wood burner.

I'm only going to render the sides and leave the back wall brick exposed.

The photo shows the situation:

My question is the metal bead put in place for plastering the outside of the chimney breast is exposed (as shown in the pic). I want the render to be applied all the way to the edge meaning the last 5mm or 10mm or so will need to cover this bead.

Is this likely to pose a problem in terms of adhesion of the render over the metal bead or should it be OK?

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Just coat the beading with some PVA before applying the lime render, this will help with the adhesion.

Just coat the beading with some PVA before applying the lime render, this will help with the adhesion.
Hi all, I'm new to this.

I have a plasterer coming in to do my living room & render my fireplace similar to above but we want all 3 walls doing.

What mix is best to use, does 7:1:1 sound right? sand/cement/lime.
I have to level the back out before he comes on monday as there is a large crevice down the middle, so was going to get it started asap.

I've got a wire brush to the suit & pva & water mix applied.

My plasterer has told me if I get it level he will apply the under coat and then come back and apply the finnishing coat.

Should I also add PVA to my mix

Any advice is welcome.

Sponsored Links
Hi all, I'm new to this.

I have a plasterer coming in to do my living room & render my fireplace similar to above but we want all 3 walls doing.

What mix is best to use, does 7:1:1 sound right? sand/cement/lime.
I have to level the back out before he comes on monday as there is a large crevice down the middle, so was going to get it started asap.

I've got a wire brush to the suit & pva & water mix applied.