thirsty boiler.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello all,
my first post, i am trying to gain knowledge on all things in the house,
I am an electronic engineer by trade and a hobbiest mechanic, so i like to think i can tackle most jobs.

anyway, my boiler (in my newly rented house) seems to be going through 500 liters a month!!, it is on approx 6 hours a day. coming from my old house this is more than twice what i am used to.

I noticed white smoke coming out of the flume, however it is a fairly new boiler with a tiger loop. the old one is still sitting beside it.

also its a pressured system, i bleed the heaters and topped up the pressure to 1 bar, the hot water tank doesnt seem to heat very quick and you are lucky to get 2 showers from it. the temp at the heaters is 60c but at the hot tank it drops to 40something, all the way down the feed pipe to the same level of the heaters. (just thinking no real flow so wont heat? blled valve stuck?)
aslo i did notice the pressure raise to 2 bar one night (air in the system?).

its alot of info i know but probanly not enough at the same time..

where ca we start?

thanks in advance
Stewart.

Sponsored Links
Start with wiki and faq for lots of basic knowledge.

Your boiler uses 600 litres a month?
A bit more info would not go amiss?

Works out to 2.8 litres/hour. What boiler is it? Model and output.
May not be that bad. Is your new house bigger than your old one?
White 'smoke' is probably condense If the boiler is fairly new it will be a condensing model and this is normal.

How have you calculated your boiler is using 500 litres a month?

Sponsored Links
thanks for the replies, i think i could be trying to run before i can walk here..
Its an RD3 and it has a manufacture stamp of this time last year, checked it last night.