Digital projector - what to look for?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

complete novice here, looking for a basic projector to project photos/video onto a white wall. doesn't need to do sound . .

any tips / reccomendations?

thanks!

Sponsored Links
well, I want to put it into my coffee shop to project photos onto a wall (that is only 1.8 metres from where projector would be . .. .)

thanks

size of screen required?

lighting conditions? - i.e. near window & in full glare of sun (in which case forget it) or towards back of store away from windows

how long on per day? - special occasions only / an hour or so a day / all day every day?

Sponsored Links
Have a look at whiteboard projectors, they have lenses designed for mounting close to the screen and high up - will minimise people getting between the projector and screen.

You have to consider access for filter cleaning and bulb changing.

size of screen required?

lighting conditions? - i.e. near window & in full glare of sun (in which case forget it) or towards back of store away from windows

how long on per day? - special occasions only / an hour or so a day / all day every day?

near patio doors, but there will be a blind. on for special occasions - evening exhibitions.

ta

If you have anything less than £700-£800 budget then I'd say go with a flatscreen TV. A 42" or 50" LCD will be brighter, easier to install and offer lower running costs.

Most standard "basic" projectors in the sub £500 price bracket are designed for 4:3 projection i.e. not widescreen. They'll give a 4:3 picture of about 70cm-80cm wide (4:3 diagonal of 32"-36"). TBH, the flatscreen TV is a better option.