mcbs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi, i have just installed a 10.5kw rated shower, which replaced an old 7.5kw, the problem is the old 32amp fuse is not powerfull enough for this shower and i cannot seem to find one any where, its a type2 nsb,
ive been told that they are an old type fuse and are hard to get hold of , am i right? plus the shower recomends a 45amp and i have read they dont make them any more, i am a novice when i comes to electrics, can someone help! thanx phil.

Sponsored Links
phiggis said:
hi, i have just installed a 10.5kw rated shower, which replaced an old 7.5kw, the problem is the old 32amp fuse is not powerfull enough for this shower and i cannot seem to find one any where, its a type2 nsb,
ive been told that they are an old type fuse and are hard to get hold of , am i right? plus the shower recomends a 45amp and i have read they dont make them any more, i am a novice when i comes to electrics, can someone help! thanx phil.
what size is the cable to the shower? it needs to be 10mm. and what is the length of the run?

do you have an RCD protecting the shower?>

Oh dear.

andrew2022 said:
what size is the cable to the shower? it needs to be 10mm

I reckon there's zero chance of that.

I also reckon there is a small but non-zero chance that it might only be 4mm².....

Ban

Perchance the chance of the cable being 4mm is slightly greater than the chance of it being 10mm??

Sponsored Links
Probabibly...

Anyway - levity aside - phiggis - you must not simply upgrade the fuse to 45A - this could be very dangerous.

phiggis said:

Type2 nsb is acually an MCB made by wylex type 2 and the catalogue reference is NSB follwed by the amps NSB32 = 32amp. It is and i am sure you may still be able to get in both 40 and 50 amps (you will need the 50) Be very careful though you also should check your cable size to ensure that is correct 10mm is what i would like to see.
TLC should have in stock

www.tlc-direct.co.uk