New Business Phone System - recommendations?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I work for a charity that will be moving to new premises later this year. We will be looking to install a new phone system but, as we don't have in-house expertise (I'm the closest as I work in IT), we need to ask around for suggestions so I thought I'd try here.

So, would you be able to recommend a phone system suitable for an open plan office with up to 40 users? I expect we'll want to consider a VoIP system but don't really know enough about that (I don't like the idea of having all our comms in one basket).

We run a Windows network and use Outlook 2007 so it would be good to avail of voicemail integration with Exchange.

Sponsored Links
For a smaller system look at the NEC XN120.

Going larger with greater LAN incorporation, the NEC SV

Many thanks for the replies - it will take me a bit longer to research these but great to have recommendations.

Sponsored Links
The LG-Ericsson IPECS (VOIP) system is worth looking at, i hear what your saying about all your eggs in one basket but here we have 700+ IP handsets and i can count on one hand the number of outages we have in a year and none of those have been network related, they were all faults with our incoming lines from BT. As long as you buy good network switches such as Cisco/HP then you can almost install and forget about them. Its also far more flexible as you dont need to install additional telephone cabling and depending on the VOIP handsets they can share the same network connection as your pc's and can be powered directly from the network switch using POE (Power Over Ethernet).

Thanks for that Dannyboi.

It's all new to me so I have a fair bit of homework to do (great to have something concrete to go on though!).

i did manage to set-up a voip systems using FreePBX (based on asterisk) which is installed on a server provided from http://www.cbsys.net/