Virgin media TV

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am having to 'go digital' soon. I have a choice, of either a satellite dish and box set-up, or Virgin media, as their cables run past my house. I have no experience of either system, but I do realise the dish set-up would be my own, with no ongoing rental. I do not watch that much TV, so would not want movie and sport channels. As I do not know anyone with it, I am now trying to find out, whether there are any significant advantages and/or disadvantages to the Virgin system. Any advice would be much appreciated, based on others experience.

Sponsored Links
Compare the cost of phone/broad band & TV, I went virgin about 2 years ago.
If virgin box goes wrong they give you a new one, Sky you pay for it.
As far as programes, I have V+ I with the basic package, like the pause rewind catch etc also the BBC i Player & ITV players.
Customer service is good once you get through to India (but its free), There is also a Forum, where you can book appointments & get issues sorted.
Also you dont have to have an ugly dish, all my cables are under the floor boards, even the internal distribution.
Im satisfied.

The first thing you need to decide is what channels you want and find out what services they are available on.

You seem to have already ruled out freeview (digital terrestrial) Is there any particular reason for that? Unless there are unusual circumstances then it's both the cheapest system and offers the best choice of UK channels of all the non-subscription options.

There are two main subscription-free sattelite systems in the UK (there are also foreign sattelite systems that can be used in the UK). Freesat and "freesat from sky" (yes the names are confusing), freesat from sky gets more channels but there aren't any decent recording options for it. Both freesat and "freesat from sky" use the same group of satellites so you can combine them (and sky boxes with a subscroption) on the same dish.