Corner of garden getting waterlogged

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A corner of my garden puddles heavily after it has rained, the garden has a wall built all the way around and the lawn falls into this corner.

Obviously it is being held there by the wall and the natural fall of the lawn.

I'm guessing I should dig a deep hole in the corner and bury a plastic soakaway, is this the best and cheapest thing to do?

Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
i'm no expert, but i wouldn't have thought you'd need a particularly big soakaway.

Depending what you had in your shed, i would do something like hammer a timber cricket stump into the ground as close to the corner as you can get avoiding footings. Fetch the stump out, then hammer a slightly bigger diameter bit of timber, say 18" into the ground, wiggling it about as you go.

And then finally, push in a length of 32mm plastic waste, cutting off just beneath ground level. And fill this with small pebbles or gravel.

You could do a couple of these?

Wall should have been built with drainage in mind. Could alway dig close to wall and put a 45mm hole thru and a bit of waste pipe to aid drainage.

i'm no expert, but i wouldn't have thought you'd need a particularly big soakaway.

Depending what you had in your shed, i would do something like hammer a timber cricket stump into the ground as close to the corner as you can get avoiding footings. Fetch the stump out, then hammer a slightly bigger diameter bit of timber, say 18" into the ground, wiggling it about as you go.

And then finally, push in a length of 32mm plastic waste, cutting off just beneath ground level. And fill this with small pebbles or gravel.

I am not quite sure what that will do, other than compact the soil even more?

Sponsored Links

I am not quite sure what that will do, other than compact the soil even more?