changing alarm bell box

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Looking for a bit of advice please.

I want to install a new bellbox to my Intellisense (honeywell) Securit 800L
alarm panel. I have purchased an intellisense / honeywell AG6 sounder/strobe.
I am confident enough with the wiring of the bellbox, but would like to know if I can do the job without deafening myself and my neighbours.

I have the engineering code but am unsure wether or not using it will disable the bellbox tamper circuit when I remove the old bellbox cover. Like wise when I connect the battery link in the new one before I put the cover on.

Thanks In advance for any advice.

Sponsored Links
I am no expert, but I am sure that if you have someone stood next to the control panel / keypad. and when you remove the bell box cover which may set the alarm off you just type in the engineers code and that will stop the alarm? and allow you to do the changeover, it may happen again when you remove the tamper wires, again just enter the engineers code. It did for me

Safe Dave

Nothing will totally disable the sounder once the power is removed until the back up batterys are removed.

User and orengineer code will stop the panel. Engineers being the best until you recommission.

Hi

Looking for a bit of advice please.

I want to install a new bellbox to my Intellisense (honeywell) Securit 800L
alarm panel. I have purchased an intellisense / honeywell AG6 sounder/strobe.
I am confident enough with the wiring of the bellbox, but would like to know if I can do the job without deafening myself and my neighbours.

I have the engineering code but am unsure wether or not using it will disable the bellbox tamper circuit when I remove the old bellbox cover. Like wise when I connect the battery link in the new one before I put the cover on.

Thanks In advance for any advice.

The bell box will usually ring for about 20 mins with out 12v being fed to it, if it contains a battery, which it should.