DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Vaillant Ecotec 824e F.28 fault

Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:00 pm Reply with quote

Hi all, Today tried using the boiler for hot water and on the status lcd display it says F.28 I've read the manual off the net to see what fault it is, it says the following:

F.28 Appliance does not start: Attempts to ignite during start
failed
Faults in the gas supply such as:
- Gas meter or gas pressure detector defective
- Air in gas
- Gas flow pressure too low
- Fire protection tap has disengaged
Faults in the gas valve, wrong gas setting, igniter (ignition transformer,
ignition cable, ignition plug) defective, ionisation current
stopped (cable, electrode), faulty earthing in appliance, electronics defective

I have phoned a gas safe plumber to come and have a look tommorow how much do you think this can cost to fix the fault depending on what it is etc?

I aint had this boiler serviced since moving in house 4 years ago so id have this done same time.

I've checked to make sure my gas is ok plenty of gas coming to the cooker so thats ok lol.

This is the only thing i do not want to attempt to do myself not worth the risk, different if i had a leaking pipe etc thats a diy job icon_smile.gif

thanks in advance for any feedback

Lee
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Boilerman2

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 4900
Location: Suffolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 910 times

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:35 pm Reply with quote

If boiler has not been Serviced in 4 Years
to service the boiler,
you may need Ignition electrode
Burner Door Seal

for this, expect a bill of around 100+ Vat
unless your F28 is due to something more sinister
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:36 am Reply with quote

Hi thanks for that Boilerman greatly appreciated icon_smile.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Agile

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jun 2004
Posts: 52863
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3326 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:21 pm Reply with quote

That boiler can have leaking seals which is why its so important to have then serviced regularly!

One that had never been serviced and had still been used when clearly they should have called an engineer came to about 400. The heat burns all the plastic parts inside.

Tony
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
absolute

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2011
Posts: 53
Location: Bristol,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 12:25 pm Reply with quote

F.28 could be coming up because your regulator at your meter has had it (this will be fixed free of charge by the gas board, but will need to be identified by a gas man first). Have you tried pressing the re-set button? Also was any work being done in the road on your gas main? F.28 or F.29 will come up if gas supply is interupted.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:12 pm Reply with quote

plumber came up but couldnt manage to fix it as he said he dont normally work on vaillant boilers, he seems to think it might be something to do with the fan because he reckons it doesnt sound as it should. Have phoned another plumber who works for british gas so hopefully he can test things etc
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:13 pm Reply with quote

I asked the plumber about the gas regulator he said he cant see it being that, no work has been done to any gas in my area. Any plumbers in south wales who are familiar with Valliant boilers? cant seem to find any Valliant engineers local in my area
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 5:54 pm Reply with quote

Hi all a british gas enginner came opened boiler up checked to see if electrode was sparking nothing there, the board is gone he said.

How much do these boards cost to supply and fit? he said he will fone me with price, id just like to have a rough idea

thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Boilerman2

from United Kingdom

Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 4900
Location: Suffolk,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 910 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 6:24 pm Reply with quote

I have never known a PCB to fail on one of those boilers....
but the BG engineer is the man on site, so if thats what he has diagnosed then thats what it needs can't help with a guide to price though as I have never had to order one icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 7:47 pm Reply with quote

Hi yep at least we know what the fault is, just shame it wasnt something a bit simpler, While he fixes this i will have boiler serviced we do need a new boiler cover seal (the black insulated one) as when first plumber took cover off the seal was crumbling away.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
SpecialK

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Sep 2010
Posts: 112
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 12 times

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:07 pm Reply with quote

Can you phone vaillant and see if they have a local engineer or will look at it themselves?
Is it possible another input to the PCB is stopping the spark? Or did the BG guy seem confident about his findings?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Bunnyman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 3745
Location: Northamptonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1078 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 9:23 pm Reply with quote

Well I work on thousands of these an never had a pcb ignition fault so I would be wary of that! Ring Vaillant for fixed price repair pcb about 180
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:06 pm Reply with quote

Hi all thanks for all the feedback icon_smile.gif

BG tested the pcb with meter etc and its got no power, the wire running to the pcb has power but soon as it enters the board theres nothing live there. Will post an update when pcb is replaced hopefully will be fine then. if it was something alot more sinister with cost wise then id prob look at replacing boiler but pcb supply and fit for under 200 is reasonable for a youngish boiler.

Only thing i dont like about this boiler is we cannot have a good dhw flow rate, ive measured 6 litres a min, takes 35 mins to fill our bath.

lets wait and see

thanks again for all your expertise
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Bunnyman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Mar 2010
Posts: 3745
Location: Northamptonshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1078 times

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 10:31 pm Reply with quote

should be 8 to 10 lm check your cold inlet if you got 12l on the cold you should get 8-10 lm on the hot , i presume someone has checked the fuse on the pcb 2amp?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
iamlee2002

from United Kingdom

Joined: 24 Nov 2009
Posts: 168
Location: West Glamorgan,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 3 times

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 8:21 pm Reply with quote

Hi yes bg guy checked everything and said its board hes come across it once or twice with same brand boiler.

DHW flow is deff only 6 lm, i had to adjust the valve feeding the boiler otherwise if it was open fully the water be cold / luke luke warm coming out of bath tap, Thats the only thing i could think of what to do. Is that normal? lol hopefully bg coming monday to replace board
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Plumbing and Central Heating All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Vaillant ecoTEC 824e hot water going cold.... 10 180 Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:27 pm
vaillant turbomax plus 824e - hot water fault 5 2220 Thu Dec 31, 2009 11:19 am
Vaillant TURBOmax Plus 824E Boiler LOCKOUT F28 Fault Code 13 13280 Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:57 pm
No power, vaillant turbomax plus 824e or drayton digistat +3 2 60 Sun Aug 18, 2013 9:33 am
vaillant turbomax 824e 19 1360 Wed Oct 22, 2008 7:44 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.