Adding a basic switch !

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am no electrical expert, not by a long chalk, but I thought I could wire a simple switch ... obviously not, so perhaps somebody here can tell me what I have to do !!!

I have an outdoor plug socket where I have extended the cable to a switch which will (I hope !!!) control some garden lights ... my cable is a basic 3 flex but the switch does not just have IN & OUT connectors, it has 2 together marked 1 and another 2 together marked L ... these are at the top of the switch ... and 2 together marked 2 at the bottom of the switch ... there is also an earth screw in the corner ...

I will have no circuit here, as such, the switch will go to some lights and they will be ON or OFF ... so firstly, how do I wire this up & secondly, I have not yet bought the lights, but I assume I can wire up to the mains now and add the lights when I do buy them, the switch will just not do anything ?!?!?

Any help appreciated ...

Sponsored Links
when you say 'garden lights' surely you are not refering to having 220v basic flex running thro' the garden?

How did you connect the switch via the outdoor socket? is it an outdoor weather proof switch? Any switch fed from any socket should be a double pole (switches both the neutral / live conductors) and should also be fused and fed with the same rating of cable as the socket

Garden lights are normally low voltage and are supplied via a small transformer although you can get the halogen flood lights on a spike which are 220v but you should use 1.0mm SWA cable to these and possibly terminated in a weatherproof junction box at each

i have a better idea, why not get one of these
LB8860.jpg

it is a weather proof switched socket.

alternatively why not bring the cable for your garden lights in doors (through the wall) and put a plug on it, then put this plug into an rcd adaptor.