DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Henley Blocks


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nommienorman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:56 pm Reply with quote

I want to extend the supply cable from the meter to the distribution board, which is going to be relocated to a new position. Do I use a Henley Block? If so how do I wire the Live, Neutral & Earth wires into the Block?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Qedelec

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 1160
Location: Birmingham,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:47 pm Reply with quote

If you have to ask this you should not be attepting this.
Please consult a professional.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
nommienorman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:26 pm Reply with quote

Connecting cables is not rocket science. All I need to know is how to do it?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
HandyJon

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2004
Posts: 176
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 6:54 pm Reply with quote

Use a screwdriver.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15931
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 8:05 pm Reply with quote

connecting cables = okay fair enough
connecting permenantly live cables = stupidity if you don't know how to deal with this or safely isolate them. Do you know how to safely isolate them?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
nommienorman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 8:09 pm Reply with quote

i know how to isolate the mains supply
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Steve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 Apr 2005
Posts: 15931
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 220 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:00 pm Reply with quote

nommienorman wrote:
i know how to isolate the mains supply

how? have you done it yourself before? did you read it on the net? do you know it's illegal to do it yourself?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 3971
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:06 pm Reply with quote

crafty1289 wrote:
nommienorman wrote:
i know how to isolate the mains supply

how? have you done it yourself before? did you read it on the net? do you know it's illegal to do it yourself?


there might already be an isolator. but still, if he needs to ask how to wire 3 cables into each henly block, he shouldnt be attempting this
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
lorraine

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:41 pm Reply with quote

Hi Everyone,

I can't help but feel a bit sorry for nommienorman, I think he has been hard done by.

To isolate the supply you must pull out the service fuse, its like a cartridge fuse for a fuseboard but a lot BIGGER!. You'll find it has seals on it (or you may find like me - it didn't), pull it and then thats the supply disconnected.

You do however do this at your own risk and to be honest, I would have gotten someone in if the electric company hadn't faffed around for a month sending me to the supplier, then my billing company etc. In the end I did it myself but here's some tips I would give you (I am by no means an electrician, but I think this is common sense really).

1. Turn the main swith on your old fusebox CU off
2. When you've pulled the fuse out, take the cartridge out and replace the plastic bit back into the service block (if thats what its called icon_question.gif ) - This stops you accidentally poking your fingers in afterwards.
3. WIre up new CU and make sure its off
4. replace service fuse
5. Turn on new CU but make sure all your breakers are off
6. Turn on one circuit at a time

The above might seem pedantic and if you are a lot more experienced then i'm sure you could skip most of the above but its not nice putting the fuse back in with the load connected. flashes of blue spring to mind!

I think thats about it.

Happy wiring

Lorraine
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
andy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 14 Sep 2004
Posts: 3971
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 2 times

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:44 pm Reply with quote

lorraine wrote:

1. Turn the main swith on your old fusebox CU off


failure to do this could cause the fuse to arc when removing/inserting and can do damage to the service head and could blind you or worse
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
nommienorman

from United Kingdom

Joined: 04 Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Essex,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2005 11:58 pm Reply with quote

Thanks to everyone who has replied to my question. You seem to have misread what I was asking.


To clarify, I have a cable which feeds from the meter to a distribution board. I want to reposition the distribution board to a location which is beyond the reach of the existing cable. My question is will a henley block be suitable or should I use something else to connect the extension cable to the existing cable?

Your kind advice will be most appreciated.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Big_Spark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 20 Feb 2004
Posts: 3434
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:58 am Reply with quote

The tails from you metere to the consumer shold, ideally, be continuous and not jointed, hever this is a requirement of the Regs for Earth Cables, these should only be jointed at points of Earth connection.

I would suggest that you buy some more Double Insulated tails and extend that way, not using a joint.

Further, bear in mind that if the consumer unit will now be remote from the meter, in a different location that is not directly though a wall, then this connection may need to be done using SWA not DI Tails.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Do Henley blocks have to be covered? 4 400 Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:24 am
HENLEY BLOCKS @ SCREWFIX 20 720 Sun Jan 27, 2013 7:08 am
Henley Blocks 4 600 Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:27 pm
Double Pole 100a Henley Block for my hi-fi 63 6880 Mon Feb 23, 2009 4:57 pm
Henley block tails 7 560 Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:45 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.