Summer Project!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a little summer project on the cards.

I have an a couple of "cramped" rooms forming my outbuildings that i want to give a face lift to and make more usable.

A while back with all neighbors agreeing we lobbed a tree down which stood behind. Now i can only think tree roots shrinkage has caused ground to move a bit and a couple of walls have stared to sink at the front. My plan was to take the front and side walls down put a shallow footing in and rebuild to form a more useful space.

My main question really is how to prop the roof while i take down the wall and rebuild? Will normal acro supports be enough and combat the roof from spreading? Would like to do it without having to strip the roof if possible!

Also while i'm on, i have no experience with drainage and wondered if it is viable in your opinions to install an outside toilet/laundry room while i'm on with it, but get someone in to do that. Would be handy but thinking would it actually add value to the property etc? Would like to know your thoughts.

Ta

Macca

GALLERY][img]

Sponsored Links
Yes acros will do the same job as the wall as long as the roof is anchored back via existing joists, or........ If it is a vaulted roof then you may need to add a few angle brackets to the existing plate connections if nail fatigue is a problem. You will however have to needle in order to spread the acros apart to gain access for your footings.

Have you considered floor, wall and roof insulation?

I would also consider installing all the drainage externally i.e. have an external svp and gullies rather than bringing the 110mm pipe inside for the loo etc.

The relationship between the existing - internal, external and eaves levels could be a problem particularly in how you position the new dpc and internal floor height. The existing eaves and door heads seem a bit low whereas the external concrete is high.