power to my shed and garden

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi to all,First things first this is my first post here :D

Now on to my prob,at the moment i have power running from my house to my shed/garage,this leads to a plug socket,what i want to do is use this power supply to power some lights in my garden,i have just got myself an outside double switch ( from b&q in the nice grey affect ).i want to use the power supply from the shed to this switch to power on the lights in the garden.
How can i connect this to the power supply going to the shed and feed it through the switch to the lights????????????I'm a total noobie to this and a guide in a simple format would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance :D

Sponsored Links
question,

will the shed supply be able to cope with the new lights?

assuming it can, go back to b & q, buy a plug and plug your lights in, it complies with part p as hard wireing them in will not comply.

try a search for part p

Thank you for your quick response,I have run the power directly from a mains plug in the house,i have already got the lights working from the shed plug socket but i wanted to use an outside switch instead of going into the shed and turning them on,how do i run the power from the shed to the switch to the lights?or cant this be done.cheers

arthurbear said:
I have run the power directly from a mains plug in the house
oh dear

I am not sure how to say this, but that is very dangeours, try a search on power to shed, garage outbuilding, for mor info

Sponsored Links
no i think you have got it all wrong,i have run a feed from the mains that goes to a plug socket in the house.I will keep trying.cheers

arthurbear, what size cable is feeding the socket in the shed? If you want to wire more things to this socket, you must first install a 13Amp FCU at the house, where this cable originates, as it is an unfused spur at the moment. To add more items, it needs to be protected by a 13A FCU.