Cold radiator upstairs...searched but did not find an answer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I will begin with saying that I have no experience with radiators whatsoever, but am mechanically inclined. I live in a semi-old house that I'm renting as a college student. We live on the second floor, and it is plenty warm on this floor. In the attic on the floor above, however, it is very cold. There is a rather large radiator up there (the whole house uses radiators) but only the bottom of it gets warm. There is a valve that controls the flow, and it is wide open.

Someone suggested that I open the bleeder at the top to bleed the air. I tried this, and some air escaped. However, no water escaped (even after leaving it open for an hour). The temperature of it has not changed -- the top and middle are still room temperature. I'm starting to wonder if the system is low on water, but I do not know how to go about checking this and how to refill it. I would HIGHLY appreciate any help that you guys can offer (but please don't get too technical with the heating-specific terms, as I am new to all of this radiator stuff).

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Your doing ok so far but now you need to find out how the system is filled.

Crystal balls don't cover that distance.

How would I go about doing that? When I look at the system in the basement, I am lost. Like I say, I do not really know what I am looking at. Any hints on finding out what type of system this is?

You need to define make and model of boiler. Almost certain there is not enough pressure in the system, that's why you have no success with the upper floor radiator. Also need to state the position the boiler is located with regards to upper radiator. System should run on a pressure of 1.0 bar, try filling to 1.5 (10m rule applies).

Sponsored Links