My recent Project... I built it myself!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
howdy, well first off i want to say sorry for not listening before (u know..fluro's).
Anyways I have built a contactor...

I just need confirmation that everything is right before I test it - Please dont shout at me, im still learning here. :LOL:

contact1uu.jpg

Would appreciate any comments & merry xmas to you.

Dave

(ps... I took the contactor thing off for illustration purposes, i havent forgot to add that, il put it on once i know everything is right)

Sponsored Links
well lets start with the obvious faults.

1: no enclosures or cord grips
2: no earths!

are fuses appropriately rated for the ratings of the contactors and cables?

what do you intend to use this for?

Presumably the octal socket takes a relay with a 230V coil, and you're using the right terminals - 2&7 for the coil and 6&8 for a pair of contacts?

And the contacts are rated at at least 13A, any load (e.g. reactive?)

OOI - any reason why you didn't use a rail mount contactor like this:

MK6220.JPG

?

Anyway - observations

1) The relay & base and choc-block will need to be in an enclosure, and you'll need to provide some form of cord-grip for the three flexes.

2) The plug & socket at the bottom should be wired using 3-core flex. Even if what you plan to power via it doesn't need an earth, it is very bad practice to provide BS 1363 sockets without an earth...

What is this for?

plugwash said:
well lets start with the obvious faults.

1: no enclosures or cord grips
2: no earths!

are fuses appropriately rated for the ratings of the contactors and cables?

what do you intend to use this for?

It's for a digital timer & a 600W aquarium light (the timer keeps blowing)

I was told to use a contactor which "handles" with the startup power thus not damaging my timer.

yeh 3A fuse which is efficient for what i need it for. (or so I am told)