electric oven

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
my landlord has just been to fit our electric oven. He has wired it up using a standard household plug and has just plugged it into the wall. just wonderd if this was safe or not. :confused: thankyou in advance

Sponsored Links
It depend upon the rating of the appliance, anything under 3kW is ok.

Hope he knows what he is doing.

Depending on the rating, this could be bad.

But without being an expert I can quite strongly assure you this is usually very very unsafe. Cookers have to be installed on a separate, dedicated ring, running on a higher fuse at the consumer unit.

DO NOT USE YOUR COOKER!

Given that all electrics in the house need to comply to certain standards and he's your landlord, I'd get Citizens' Advice on your case if he's not around at yours' sharpish holding the hand of very qualified electrician.

thankyou for replying.

im awaiting enviromental health, but could take up to two wks. so microwave meals it is then!

Sponsored Links
Chrism2 how can you make such a harsh judgmental statement when you clearly state yourself that you are not an expert and have no clear knowledge of the situation.

In a lot of cases a built-in single oven is quite capable of being supplied by a standard 13A plug top. This is pretty standard, having a single oven supplied by the kitchen ring final circuit.

When we get into double ovens, and hobs then a dedicated raidal circuit is required.

Either way it is not as dangerous as you suggest; if it is a double oven and the landlord has put a standard plug top on it then this will be protected by a 13A fuse which will blow (unless he's put a nail in it which you would have to be completely dosile to do), although it obviously isn't up to the job it is not dangerous.

Your advice is not very helpful, and suggesting contacting the CAB without full knowledge of the situation is foolhardy.

I agree whole heartedly, ibruceuk.