Dimmer Switch Problem - Buzzing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I've just fitted a dimmer switch to control 10 halogen spots and have a problem with a buzzing sound!

Both the switch itself and the main fuse box buzz really loudly when the dimmer is set to a low light - surely this isn't normal!

The 10 spots I'm using are Osram Halogen 50W 12v off a 1000w dimmer -any ideas?

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
your transformer sounds like it is not suitable for dimming- not all are

Thanks for the reply!

What should I do next then? I'm no expert in electrics so your help would be v. helpful!

first i would check your transformer to see does it say "electronic" if it doesn't or says "not suitable for dimming"

then you will have to get electronic transformers. I looked up tlc and screwfix and neither have 1000w electronic transformers, so that means you will have to get 1 transformer / light (its easier on the wiring side that way

screw fix ones are here

who put the lights in any way? or did you just recently decide to fit a dimmer to them?

I still think your transformer is not electromic check it first though

you also do not need a 1000w dimmer as the side you are dimming is the primary side of the transformer not the secondary which will be at 1000w.

not that it will do you any harm by having a too big dimmer

Sponsored Links
Thanks again!

Sorry to be a complete novice but how do I check what transformer I have?

I had the dimmer fitted today by a local electrician - he said that the buzzing from the dimmer was normal......

to check the transformer you will need to physically look at it.

it is normal for dimmers to buzz, but not that loud

Shouldn't an electrician have checked to see if the transformer was suitable for dimming?

Have you paid him?

obviously the electrcian didn't check as he put in a 1000w transformer

Where is the transfromer? In the fuse box?

Sorry to sound thick!!! :)