Hot water from cold taps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm a newbie and don't claim to know anything about plumbing but I've got warm/hot water coming from all the taps which are fed by the "cold" water tank in the loft. It stays hot even when you run the taps for several minutes so I think hot water is somehow flowing into the cold water tank.

I don't actually have central heating, this is part of a system with a hot water cylinder in an airing cupboard and pipes going to the bathroom and kitchen. The hot water cylinder is electrically heated and I think it is unusually hot. I can't find a thermostat so am wondering if it is overheating somehow?

Does this sound dangerous? It certainly doesn't seem desirable or good for the electricity bill.

Any thoughts or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks!

Dan ("Barq")

Sponsored Links
Do you have any mixer taps fitted somewhere in your house? It sounds like one might be letting the water through.

If you have a direct cylinder, the thermostat should be located on the immersion heater itself (under the plastic cover).
There won't be a visible thermostat strapped to the tank.

It sounds like the thermostat has failed.

TURN THE HEATER OFF!!!!!!!

Just put it on for long enough to heat the water you need, when you need it, then turn it off. Get the thermostat replaced asap.

I don't intend to be alarmist, but YES THIS IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS. If you have a plastic cold water tank, it will be seriously weakened if the water temperature rises significantly. Then you could be faced by a deluge of scalding water.

You would not be the first to suffer this, and it has been fatal!!!!!!!!

barq if you read that and haven't turned it off,
TURN IT OFF NOW!!

Sponsored Links
Hi Everyone