Powermax 155 Boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
After my boiler tripped and the fuse blew in the mains outlet, i then changed it and switched the boiler on. After about 30 secs it tripped and blew the fuse again. Tried it again and the same thing happened. The central heating wasn't on at the time just the HW, any ideas...cheers

Sponsored Links
First get the boiler fixed, then mend the fuse!
If there's a short-circuit inside the boiler, this would have the effect you describe. But it seems pretty doubtful whether you will get anywhere without a wiring diagram and some prior knowledge of how the Powermax works. Do you have both?

i have the wiring info but no experience with boilers, but i am an electrical engineer.

find the component in the boiler then that has a short and replace it simple :rolleyes: i would check in this order personally

1 pumps
2 fan if it is this get corgi engineer to replace
3 gas valve (if it is this get corgi engineer to replace)
4 pcb

Sponsored Links
:idea: Also check auto air valve(AAV) this may be leaking into wiring centre, only applies for model with pressure gauge fitted

i cannot believe an electrical engineer cannot work out why a fuse is blowing.I am staggered. Its your job man .pls tell me u r an appretice or its a wind up

My father had a PhD in electrical engineering but he still could not mend a boiler!

He would just have called someone from the Yellow Pages.

Perhaps this fellow should tell us what test equipment he has available and I could suggest what he can do with it?

Tony

Agile said:
My father had a PhD in electrical engineering but he still could not mend a boiler!

He would just have called someone from the Yellow Pages.

Perhaps this fellow should tell us what test equipment he has available and I could suggest what he can do with it?

Tony

What you mean he didnt call you to fix his boiler :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

Hey bob,
are you still around on this list?