Installing a pendant

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im a novice - and need some help. I have some pendant lights that need additional support within my plasterboard ceiling - i.e. a hook fixed back to a batten I imagine, and i want to install them on my existing lights. But, when i take the cover off my ceiling rose, the existing ceiling rose is exactly where i need my hook to be if i want it to be hidden by the pendant fittings. What do i do? Im on a victorian ground floor flat, with no access from above. Can the ceiling rose be located elsewehere in the ceiling void, with the flex fed through the opening and new support batten?

Sponsored Links
If you are hanging a chandelier or something heavy, you need to fasten the hook to the joist of the floor above. This will probably be beside your existing lighting fitting. If the ceiling is painted white, and the plastic fitting is also white, it will not be noticable as people will generally not look at it.

If you have a Victorian house then the ceiling is probably made of lath and plaster and will fall down of you put weight on it. You wil not be able to get into the void to fit an extra batten. (oops, sorry, you say it has been replaced by a newer plasterboard ceiling, which will not be as fragile, but it still won't take a heavy lamp.)

So does that mean there aren't any tricks to get the hook located exactly where the ceiling rose ought to be? I can't move the pendant over as its surrounded by an ornamental plaster ceiling rose which would be off centre with the fitting hung from a joist.....And I cant push the electrical ceiling rose out of the way up into the ceiling void? If I understand right, the only way I can support the pendant will be by using a batten either installed from above (no access) or below (meaning I have to tear out a load of the plaster ceiling - no thanks!)

Ah, a ceiling rose.

You may be able to get a steel stand-off bracket that will screw through the feet into the joint above