Is it legal

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
To fit your own boiler? Mines pretty old and has issue. Im a competent mechanic and recon i could fit a boiler no problem. But is it legal. Do i need to be qualified by law?

Sponsored Links
Assuming it's gas, we get asked this question every week. There are answers, opinions, arguments all over the web.
You don't have to be corgi registered, but it's specified in law that to work on gas you DO have to be competent. That competence isn't defined.
If you do anything "wrong" though, you've broken the law:
(3) No person shall carry out any work in relation to a gas fitting or gas storage vessel otherwise than in accordance with appropriate standards ...

Fat chance of getting it "In accordance" unless you know what the "appropriate standards" are.

You also need a corgi to Notify the installation as being done by him, to Corgi and the Building Regs people, so get one on board early and decide who does what.

ChrisR said:
Assuming it's gas, we get asked this question every week.
...and your answer on this post is so blindingly specific and accurate that it now belongs in the sticky topic hall of fame!

Sponsored Links
Hm. Whilst there's an lot of interesting and relevant information in the Water Systems post, which is one I respect BTW, yours had the advantage of being both concise and 100% correct.

The problem with the concepts of competence and working otherwise than in accordance with appropriate standards, is that the prosecuting authority (HSE?) would have to prove incompetence and/or non-accordance with appropriate standards.

It is difficult to see how such a prosecution could be successful unless the work carried out had defects sufficient to indicate incompetence or non-accordance with standards. Competence only has to relate to the work carried out, so someone connecting a hob need know nothing about gas fitting beyond what is involved in that particular job.