Room Stat problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Can anyone please help!!!

I have a Honeywell Plan Y system - V4073A Mid Pos Valve, T6060B Room Stat and L641A Boiler Stat with Potterton EP2002 Controller and Glowworm Mk II Boiler.

The room stat isnt controlling the boiler, mis position valve or pump?

The switched live on the room stat (supplied by controller) looks ok, as does the operation of the room stat (i.e switching power correctly). Whoever originally installed the system has used various types of cable / junction boxes and I cant work out how it is wired.

Where does the output of the room stat then go? (I had some building work done in the locale of the room stat recently and suspect the wiring may have been damaged)

I'm an Electronic Engineer and so will be able to sort it if I have an idea of the wiring schematic.

Many thanks for any help you can offer.

Cheers,

Andy

Sponsored Links
Cheers, thanks for your speedy help :D

The schematic shows a junction box/wiring centre, is there a usual place for this to be located? I seem to have loads of junction boxes under my floorboards!

andya121 said:
Cheers, thanks for your speedy help :D

The schematic shows a junction box/wiring centre, is there a usual place for this to be located? I seem to have loads of junction boxes under my floorboards!

Could be anywhere.

From the fault you are describing i would be looking at the mid pos valve actuator.

Find the white wire from the actuator and check for 240V with the clock on CH only and the room stat calling.

If there is 240V but the actuator is not moving (take off the cover and have a look) you will need a new synchron motor.

Sponsored Links
You were spot on with your diagnosis :D

Next questions, do i need to replace the complete valve or can I replace the internal motor?

If I need to replace the complete valve is this a do-able diy job for a non-plumber (i.e. me)?

Cheers,

Andy