worcester 240 combi boiler pressure problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi there i have a worcester 240 combi boiler that is blowing its pressure release valve at just over 3 bar

hot water is all ok
the boiler pressure when cold is always and has been 1 bar

it does not loose any pressure, only when the boiler is in central heating mode does the pressure keep climbing until it blows the prv

have read the faq's/search pages so i know its something to do with the expansion vessell pressure(big red tank)

when i tested the inner value on the vessell there was No water coming out from it just a little bit of air----so i think i need to put some air in with a foot/bycicle pump.

but how much do i put in please if my needle is set to 1 bar on the gauge??

do i need to drain the boiler first of the water in it, so pressure is at zero then pump up the expansion vessell???

what is the correct and safest way

PS
i am a qualified electronics engineer and have fitted a diverted value and overheat thermostat and a fan unit in the last 9 years,so used to taking it apart,but want to make sure i do it correctly

step by step help would be very helpfull if someone could take me through it

many thanks in advanced

Sponsored Links
milkshaker said:
do i need to drain the boiler first of the water in it, so pressure is at zero then pump up the expansion vessel???
Yes. The outlet to water of the expansion vessel should be at 0 bar. Them use a bicycle pump (schraeder valve) to pump up the air side, checking it with a pressure gauge (as used for tyres).

I think normal precharge pressure is 0.8 Bar, but it should be written on the vessel or in the boiler instructions. If the vessel loses it's precharge pressure soon you may need a new expansion vessel.

thanks for the very quick replies guys, just one point