Gledhill Torrent - Hot water not so hot

Tam

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Total newbie to this so hopefully I'll make sense.

This is a problem i believe with either the Gledhill Torrent Direct T210 thermal store or the Thermostatic Blending valve.

Over the last week or two there has been a noticeable whistle/vibration/noise when running the hot water tap at full (when filling a bath for example) from around the thermostatic blending valve.

This has now resulted in only warm water being produced from the hot tap, even though the thermal store itself has charged overnight and is very hot to touch.

Now a couple of things concern me
1) There appears to be very small bits of black plastic coming from the hot water tap possible some sort of valve breaking up / broken ??
2) There is a small water pipe at the top of the tank just above a larger white plastic pipe which i will assume is the overflow pipe, the top pipe therefore i assume is a header tank filler. There is a small valve ( i assume on/off ) on this pipe which is set to the " | " position against the pipe (inst this the off position???)
3) I can see the top of the tank if i stand on a chair, this allows me to see a flimsy plastic cap on the top of the tank, i assume if i prise this off i can see if the header tank has water in it?
4) I'm thinking because the tank is hot, its heating okay, and because the blending valve appears to be where the noise is coming and that the water is only warm (hot to start with for the first few seconds) that its a problem with the blending valve rather than anything more expensive.

Anyone experienced similar ( a search didn't highlight anything of interest).

What's your thoughts on this? Can i take the lid of and see if there's water in the tank?

Can any plumber from the yellow pages come and work on these, or do they need to be specially trained?