Flooring over a drain access cover in consrevatory

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm new to all this and I couldn't see this question answered anywhere else - apologies if it has already been asked.

I have had a new conservatory built over an existing drain cover. The builders used a raised access hatch and have put concrete screed over the floor.

I now want to lay laminate flooring to finish it. I realise that I will need to have some kind of hatch so that I can access the drain if we ever need to. I have been told that this is possible but I don't know where to start.

Can anyone help?

Sponsored Links
i guess you need to install some kind of flush fitting timber trim around the inspection chamber cover, creating a mitred frame.

then fabricate, within that frame, (the inspection chamber lid itself) a removable panel, similar to a loft hatch, again with a flush mitred trim.

WoodYouLike??

noseall said:
i guess you need to install some kind of flush fitting timber trim around the inspection chamber cover, creating a mitred frame.

then fabricate, within that frame, (the inspection chamber lid itself) a removable panel, similar to a loft hatch, again with a flush mitred trim.

WoodYouLike??
That's possible and will give you a posh panel. If the drain cover isn't that large you could just lay the floor normally and where the cover is, cut the board/boards to make it a loose cover. Just be aware you'll have to get rid of the T&G/click-bits. If indeed the cover isn't that big, the loose cover won't effect the stability of the floor.
We've done it before with wood-engineered floors and solid floors, no probs.

How often do drains block
if it did could it be rodded from another point.
I wouldnt bother (& didnt) spoil my floor for odds of 1 in ?????

Sponsored Links
Diyisfun
drains block like "s*ds law " my mate Brian has a drain biz ,

an he get a call a week from covered over man holes in conservatory ,