Towns Gas

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

As a (relativley) young person i have a q for sum of the more mature people here !

What was Towns gas ? I noticed while servicing an old Housewarmer the other day it had values for this on the data badge. Was it similar to LPG ? And why was it fazed out ? Was natural gas a better option ?

Prob a really boring q tbh, but its something ive never heard of apart from a brief mention in my ACS course 4.5 yrs ago, which i A: neither understood fully then and B: can't remember !

Sponsored Links
As far as I know, it was made by heating coal in a big oven and the gas that came off was piped to houses, I believe it was phased out because it was poisonous (remember the stories about suicides by putting heads in the gas oven...) and gas was discovered in the north sea, beleive that was around late 60's / early 70's

Well, thats how I undertsand it, but feel free to correct me... I'm just a trainee spark, and wasn't born until the mid 80's ...

Town gas was a mixture of Coal Gas (created by fractional distillation of coal, i.e. making it very hot in a sealed container so hat it broke down and various gases, oils and tars came off; mixed with hydrogen and carbon monoxide (created by blasting hot steam through the red-hot coke solids remaining in the sealed container, which caused the breakdown of the Carbon and the water vapour, by the oxygen in the water partially combining with the carbon in the coke to give carbon monixide (which is both flammable and very poisonous) and hydrogen (which is very flammable).

Yes, it had a different calorific value so there was a massive excercise throughout the whole country for which most of British Gas staff were employed in the first place, to change the jets on all gas equipment.

Town gas included carbon monoxide so it was an easy way to kill yourself.