No hot water on Combi Worcester Bosch 24i

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Is there any chance someone could confirm what they think is wrong with my combi boiler. I believe I know, but I'm not an expert for sure ....

Its a Worcester Bosch 24i

Symptoms:

1. Boiler does not light if central heating is off and hot tap is turned on.

2. Central Heating works fine, boiler ignites if thermostat calls for heat

3. Only way to get "some" hot water is to force central heating on (using theromstat) and wait for boiler to turn on then run tap. Its not hot hot kinda warmish but enough at the moment for a shower.

I believe the flow switch has probably stopped working, which is why i'm guessing the boiler doesnt turn on and why I only get warm water if the CH is on. I believe ? that the boiler is meant to stop heating the CH when it detects water flow, and as thats not happening it can't heat both the water and the CH enough ... but thats just a guess

I've also turned the boiler off disconnected the two wires from the flow switch and put my multimeter on them to check for resistance. Even with the hot water taps on my multimeter stays at 1, i.e. there is no circuit.

Is there any chance someone could confirm my suspicions before I call my plumber in ? I would very much appreciate it !

thanks in advance

Cheers

Andy

Sponsored Links
Yes it should go short circuit when there's flow. If you DIY it might be worth trying to clean it, but reed switches get magnetised and need replacement. Part about £40

The first thing to establish is the flow rate. Has this decreased recentley over time. If yes then the flow rate will not be enough to push the paddle in the flow switch. If the flow is ok (more than a dribble and a little slower the cold tap) then it can only be a faulty flow switch.

This is all relevant as per your diagnosis.

Thanks