Garden Refurbishment Project 1 - Retaining Walls & Lawn

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am planning to do a complete makeover of our 5 year old typical 'new build' garden, with the intention over the next 8 months of leveling it out, installing a new path, deck and water feature (as well as some nice borders). Being a complete novice, I would be very grateful of any advice that could be provided as I progress this project…

1. Retaining Wall

The current situation is that the lawn is very poor and slopes into a corner. My current plan is to level the garden by installing a small retaining wall in the corner. I could build the wall so that the garden is completely level but I would guess it is best to have a slight slope away from the house to aid drainage.

Q1. If I maintain a slight slope, how great does it need be? The lawn will be around 8m long.

At it maximum height the wall would only need to be 450mm high, although this height would reduce along its length as it cut into the slope. Following advice on the builders forum, I have starting digging a trench 450mm wide and 600mm deep (allowing for the first course of bricks to start at 150mm below existing ground level).

Q2. 600mm seems quite deep for such a small wall. Is this right, or can I reduce the depth of the foundations, particularly as the wall reduces to just a couple of brick courses as it cuts into the slope? I am stepping the foundations but can't seen the benefit of 600mm when you get done to just a few courses of bricks?