boiler over heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Sime Super 90 and the heating is working ok, but when I use the hot water on and it reaches a temp.approx 80c.the pilot light goes out and it trips a switch and the boiler need to be restarted manually.
Have had the system flushed and new water pump last year.

Please advise.

Sponsored Links
Isn't 80C a bit hot? Every tap I have ever fitted, as well as my washing machine, recommends that hot water should not be hotter than 60C.

I have found that with my Potterton Profile boiler that the recommendation is that the boiler should be set to maximum on the dial.

But there is a temperature dial strapped to the hot water cylinder which should be set to about 60 degrees.

Does yours have such a dial attached?

I am not a professional, but a friendly amateur.

It is cutting out on the overheat stat, does it still do it when you turn the boiler stat down to say half way?

Sponsored Links
I have a Potterton and it also keeps cutting out on thermal overheat. I thought it was air in the boiler. I have just checked my temperatures and found that the boiler dial was set to high and so was the tank dial.

I have just turned the tank down to 60, but left the boiler set high. I will let you know what happens

regards,

Intersimi

MOD see this

have found that with my Potterton Profile boiler that the recommendation is that the boiler should be set to maximum on the dial
Where does it say that??
Seems a very strange idea indeed.

To respond to the original question: 80C is VERY hot for hot water. Chances are the boiler is 'running away' (due to a sensor problem?) and eventually cutting out via the limit thermostat.
Needs fixing.

Well, that did not fix my problem. It seems to stay on a little bit longer than before, but not much longer. I am going to turn the boiler down to 60 also. Again I will let you know what happens.

currently:
Tank = 60
Boiler = max

going to do:
Tank = 60
Boiler = 60