Installing a Power Shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Ok everyone, i hope that you can help me out here (please) :LOL:

Missus has ben pestering me for a new shower installing for some time now (a couple of months). Im fairly handy at DIY and work in the construction industry so not a complete noob but do not know it all by a long shot.

We currently have a set of taps on the bath with a flexi hose coming off the bath tap set to a shower head. The pressure is poor, very poor. :cry:

The system, i believe, is gravity fed :?: with a boiler downstairs in the kitchen and hot water cylinder in a cupboard upstairs. The base of the cylinder is approx 1.5m below the shower head and 3m below the cold water tank. The cold water storage tank is in the loft. I believe the system is vented :rolleyes:

The hot water pipe from the hot water cylinder to the bath tap appears to run underneath the floor (the floor gets warm when either the heating is on (there is a rad in the bathroon) or when you run a bath. I assume from this that the floor void isnt very deep (but then again we are at first floor level). ;)

I am thinking of buying a mixer shower (say £120) and then adding a pump (say a 1.5bar pump approx £99 - that should suffice). I can fit the blending valve and re-tile/decorate the bathroom no problem. I will also probably have to replace/repair some of the plasterboard.

I just need help/advice re the pipework configuration.