dodgy bath-sink taps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
whenever i turn the taps on, water pressure is poor. the tap itself seems to be fully opened with one turn. sometimes it takes several turns. whenever i lift the tap upwards while turning it sometimes alleviates the problem. is this some seal problem. help im a novice at this diy malarky :confused:

Sponsored Links
jonbuzz said:
whenever i turn the taps on, water pressure is poor. the tap itself seems to be fully opened with one turn. sometimes it takes several turns. whenever i lift the tap upwards while turning it sometimes alleviates the problem. is this some seal problem. help im a novice at this diy malarky :confused:

I see that you are also a novice at English language...

...seems to be fully opened with one turn. sometimes it takes several turns...
What are you telling us? That the tap doesnt open more than one turn, or that the flow is maximum after one turn (with no increase after further turns)?

whenever i lift the tap upwards while turning it sometimes alleviates the problem
What problem? You mean the problem of the water flow, or the problem with turning the tap.
That is, I get the impression that there are two problems. One, the tap is difficult to turn. Second, the water flow issue.

Are the other taps in your house, assuming that there are others..., also suffering from poor flow, or is just a certain tap affected?

See this to help you.Best to take the bath taps apart , investigate plus renewing 'o' ring gland seal and tap washer etc.

assuming the pressure on the other taps is ok.
You will need to take the tap apart replace washer and seals re grease with silicon and put it back together again. search forum as there was a similar problem not long ago.

Sponsored Links
yes thankyou sterose for your comments. would you please check your own use of the english language before jumping on others. ta

to clarify,