DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

extending cables to new consumer unit


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
john-boy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:49 pm Reply with quote

I need to move the consumer unit from its current location, but the ring mains, lighting cables, etc, will be about 2 metres short. I have had 2 electritians in & both stated different ways of moving the consumer unit.
the first guy said he would use choc blocks or junction boxes to extend the cables and connect with new cable to the consumer unit.
The other guy wants to pull up floor boards and re-wire to the last connection. This sounds the most professional way to do it, but it is the most expesive way...by a long shot.
Is it ok to extend the cables with choc blocks or junction boxes? this guy is much cheaper!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Spark123

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 14275
Location: Cumbria,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 410 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:51 pm Reply with quote

If the terminals are accessable for inspection and testing then they are OK, however the fewer terminals in an installation the better.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
john-boy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 7:56 pm Reply with quote

thanks for the speedy reply!
so i dont need to be pulling up floor boards for the electritian...this should save a lot of time & money.
the junctions will be behind a kitchen cupboard. If a "door" is made in the back of this cupboard they presumably would be accessable. what would the choc blocks need to be covered with?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RF Lighting

from United Kingdom

Joined: 31 Mar 2006
Posts: 17598
Location: Leeds,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 960 times

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:01 pm Reply with quote

Basically the joint box method is ok, but rewiring each circuit back to the first point is a much, much better way to do things.

Strip connectors, if in some sort of enclosure are just OK but are really pushing it.

You get what you pay for.

Personally I would joint out the cables only as a last resort.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
john-boy

from United Kingdom

Joined: 26 Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Norwich,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:06 pm Reply with quote

looks like i'll be pulling up the floor boards then!
want to get it right...not just a "make do" job.
thanks guys.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Extending cables to move consumer unit 13 820 Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:02 am
Extending cables underfloor 7 440 Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:21 am
New sockets in lathe & plaster walls? Extending cables? 5 1540 Thu May 07, 2009 8:56 pm
extending cables for socket 5 400 Fri Aug 21, 2009 10:28 am
extending cables to a new cu 3 600 Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:04 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.