Plastered wall - Finishing Touches?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I've plastered a small wall (as much as I'm able to do with out pulling my hair out) and I've sanded it down. The wall is due to be papered (lining) but I would love to hear the best tips for finishing the wall off, i.e. a coat of paint first, with PVA?

Sponsored Links
Multifinish said:
wallpaper is out mate, skimmed walls painted are in

I hate wallpaper. I also hate ugly walls. Skimming will always be the best option. However, I'm skilled enough to prep and paper but not skim. And considering skimming means paying more money i don't have when I have certain skills I can use, that's the way I'll go. I'm just after tips and advice as I'm not a professional.

As for paper being out, have you been in any new builds recently? There's more blown wallpaper going up than plaster! But thanks for taking the time to comment.

in fact i have just had my plater on the phone saying he has finished our next room to decorate,

The first room i tried wicks professional paint watered down, it worked but to be honest the following coats of dulux white didn`t stick well and the colour on top again seems to not be quite stuck. plaster was definatly dry so plan to try PVA 1/5 water as a base coat on the second room, worked well in a bit in the kitchen which was bare plaster when we bought the house.

anyone else got feelings on this?? whats the Dulux basecoat stuff like, seems that will do with a 20% extra water.

Sponsored Links
papers in in new homes as its cheap and quick, our smallest bedroom which is 8x8 approx has been £200 for a full skim including the ceiling, which looked like some sort of crazy paving, also bricked up a huge vent that needed filling and channeld in the lighting cables, he supplied everything so its an all in price, plus our ceiling is curved. i thinks is a good price for a great finish!

Just give it a coat of thinned out paste and allow it to dry before you start papering