DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Warmup Underfloor Heating Connection


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
billau

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Location: Worcestershire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 10:03 am Reply with quote

I need to connect my warmup underfloor heating, I have the themostat installed and connected to the heating cable and from the thermostat wiring goes into the loft. I did it this way as there was already t&e wiring from under the floor to the thermostat location which was previusly used for a fan heater, now disconnected.

Problem is in the loft the only mains power source is a double 13 amp socket which is spurred from the ring main downstairs. Can I simply connect the thermostat via a JB to a 13 amp plug and plug it in or am I being really stupid? Do I need to spur into the ring main from somewhere else?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
summo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 13
Location: Yorkshire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:02 am Reply with quote

I have a similar product and believe it needs to be connected via its own circuit breaker, not via your sockets.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
tekkiesteve

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 77
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:39 pm Reply with quote

why don't you forgo the socket in the loft and replace it with one of these http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/pro.jsp?cId=A231858&ts=34145&id=14770

steve


Last edited by tekkiesteve on Fri Feb 23, 2007 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
IJWS15

from United Kingdom

Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 1268
Location: Staffordshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 37 times

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 12:57 pm Reply with quote

The normal questions are:
Rating of heating element/s you are trying to connect?
Cable size / protection device for circuit you want to connect it to?
Any manufacturers instructions?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
securespark

from United Kingdom

Joined: 11 Jan 2004
Posts: 25199
Location: Cheshire,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 441 times

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:19 pm Reply with quote

You should follow the mfrs instructions. Having installed Warmup, you need RCD protection first off.

You also need the controller to be accessible. This isn't going in the loft, is it??

Do you mean you have broken into the thermostat cable and extended it with T & E?? Is that OK as per the instructions?

If in doubt RING THE MANUFACTURER!
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
billau

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Location: Worcestershire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:26 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies, it's a 400 watt heater, 1.7 amps and must have an RCD. The house fuse box has an RCD. The thermostat is installed on the landing outside the bathroom and I connected the thermostat using T&E to the heating element. Then there's T&E from the thermostat up into the loft.

I have discovered mains power in the loft for the central heating pump, would it be best to spur from this with a 30amp JB. I assume spurring into the lighting circuit is a no-no.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ELZ4742

from United Kingdom

Joined: 22 Jan 2007
Posts: 557
Location: Oxford,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 16 times

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:38 am Reply with quote

the central heating pump will not be a permant feed, only on call, so this aint much good tya.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
billau

from United Kingdom

Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Location: Worcestershire,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:39 pm Reply with quote

I never go this far as a test shows some problem with the heater element. It was working OK during and just after tiling, now when I connect up directly to the mains (thermostat not wired at this point) using a standard plug - which is Warmups' recommended way of testing the heater - it trips out the house fuse box. Warmup will send an engineer but not until April!

Anyone any ideas meantime?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Warmup Underfloor Heating Install, advice please (with pics) 15 2360 Tue Nov 03, 2009 5:08 pm
Warmup XSTAT Wiring Advice - Loose Wire System 2 1080 Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:42 pm
Warmup Second slave thermostat possible? 11 200 Wed Mar 27, 2013 6:35 pm
Warmup XSTAT U/F Thermostat - Identify Sensor? 8 140 Mon Dec 23, 2013 9:26 pm
Warmup time of CFL GU10's... what about LEDs? 8 840 Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:16 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.