Bubbly Wallpaper...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We've got a four-bedroomed house to wallpaper, top to bottom. We started last week but despite our best efforts the wallpaper is bubbly.

The obvious answer is to put lining paper on first, but it's a big job as it is when compared with the time we've got to do it, and this would seem to be doubling our effort.

Is there any other option? We're short of time so any suggestion would be gratefully received.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Warning- I'm not a pro at all but I had a similar problem as I didn't prep the walls properly (well, at all really..!) and it ended up a bit messy- sowing up all the imperfections in the wall.

What I did was simply to sand the walls and use polyfilla (the finishing one) to skim the uneven bits. I then sized the walls with the wallpaper paste & let it dry before papering. Much better results. I reckon for a non expert like me it was quicker than lining paper but still took a while. I guess it depends what you mean by bubbly though.

Andy.

depends how bubbly it is?

some bubbles will dissappear with time as the paper dries out properly,

if i get the odd bubble after papers dried then i have used 2 methods
depending on what type/pattern of paper

1) slice bubble with a razor blade and get a small brush to get some paste in behind.

2) use a needle and syringe and inject some paste into the bubble.
be careful you dont squirt too much in as you can end up with a bubble full of wet paste!

but normally i dont get any bubbles :rolleyes:

your other option if its really bubbly is to start again and prepare walls properly.
did you size walls ?

Sponsored Links
Paste the wallpaper and leave to soak for a while, normally about 5 mins depending on wallpaper.