Dishwasher Waste problem - not enough connections

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have never done any plumbing before and have just bought a dishwasher thinking it would be easy to plumb in.

I dont think the supply will be a problem as i think a T will do the trick.

However, looking at the waste pipe connections above the P trap in my sink, there are 2 allready. The first is from the washing machine and the second is the overflow from the sink itself.

What is the best way to plumb in the waste from the dishwasher? Can i get a trap with 3 (spigots??) bits to connect a waste pipe to?

or should i make the sink overflow a junction...or ?

Any advice much appreciated.

Bilabong

Edit: Still not sure if this is the right forum... the plumbing "read before you post" says it should be here but..... sorry admin if its in the worng place.

Sponsored Links
Hi,

Thanks for the reply. The one that is currently fitted looks like the one you recommened. The one i have has two hose attachments, and both are used.

Can you ge them with more than 2?

Many Thanks

Bilabong

If the waste pipe runs horizontally near the floor before exiting the kitchen, you can use a stand-pipe and bend arrangement, which to my mind is better, as it does not allow dirty sink water to flow into the washing machine under adverse conditions, and might be less prone to leaks and blockages.

Sponsored Links
Hi John,

The waste pipe runs horizontally out of the kithen about 1 and a half foot off the floor. There is only about 1ft of clearance between the worktop and the waste pipe. is that enough to work with?

The plumbing in my house looks a bit ropey... i just noticed that the sink drain pipe has been silicone sealed into the drain.

How high does a stand pipe need to be above the drain? (i will go and try and read up on this)

Bila

For clarity, i have tried to include a pic of the current layout

clf-gas said:
A wash machine trap John.

Ah... the correct name!

Have you got a pic?