DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Cooker hood on 2.5mm cable

This topic originated from the How to page called Installing a cooker hood
Click here to return to the page called Installing a cooker hood.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
exeter

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 8
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:13 pm Reply with quote

Hello all.

I have a fused connection unit, which I presume spurs from the ring main, because it is connected to a single T&E cable and when I remove the 30amp fuse which I know protects the ring, the supply stops.

Before plastering, I ran a 2.5mm T&E from this FCU (vertically, then horizontally) so I could then connect a flex outlet and then a cooker hood. I now know I should have used 1.0mm T&E, but have heard that using larger cable is safer than using too small a cable.

Does anybody forsee problems using 2.5mm between the FCU and the flex outlet, and a 3A fuse in the FCU?

Cheers
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:45 pm Reply with quote

exeter wrote:
I ran a 2.5mm T&E from this FCU (vertically, then horizontally)


No problem with 2.5 from your FCU to your cooker hood, What does concern me is the vertically and horizontally bit in your thread. Are you aware of Safe Zones?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chri5

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 4019
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 349 times

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 2:46 pm Reply with quote

No that's fine, most would do the same.

The majority of all socket based ring circuits and spurs are always in 2.5TE

With smaller cable you are saving pennies and loosing the ability to increase the load on the spur device, should something heavty ever replace the current hood.

Kitchen electrics are notifiable under Part P as a special area.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
exeter

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 8
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:26 pm Reply with quote

thanks for your replies - I know you're not allowed to embed cable diagonallly and within 150mm of the edge of a wall, shoiuld I have run it horizontally, then vertically?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
RobFurn

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Location: United Kingdom
Thanked: 1 time

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:37 pm Reply with quote

Draw us a picture of where you have placed your cables and we will tell you if its ok.
I would post you a picture of the safe zones but I dont have one to hand however no doubt someone will be along in a bit to post one.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
sm1thson

from United Kingdom

Joined: 05 Sep 2005
Posts: 829
Location: Hull,
United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 4:04 pm Reply with quote

Back to top
 Alert Moderators
exeter

from United Kingdom

Joined: 15 May 2007
Posts: 8
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 7:28 pm Reply with quote

I routed the cable vertically from the FCU a couple of feet and then horizontally, at a right angle, a couple of feet, in line with the flex outlet. So the flex outlet is on a diagonal line from the FCU, but the cable is routed at a right angle.

If this is wrong, how does one route the cable from an fcu to a flex outlet that is not in the vertical above it? Use metal conduit?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ColJack

from United Kingdom

Joined: 16 Feb 2007
Posts: 11773
Location: West Midlands,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 408 times

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:18 pm Reply with quote

that's fine..

you can go horizontally or vertically from an accessory..

which is exactly what you have done.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
daytona

from United Kingdom

Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 697
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 6:48 pm Reply with quote

OP

the only thing i would say is,keep an eye on how you join the flex to the 2.5 twin and earth,check that the flex doesnt come apart from te connections,double the ends over.

EDIT:

just re read your post and your using a flex outlet plate,so no probs there either.


mrspiers,you havent given us any information regarding the load of said oven or how you intend to run the cable,or anything for that matter.
might be a good idea to start your own thread instead of hijacking someone elses icon_wink.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Moderator 9
Moderator Comment
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:00 pm    Comment:

Hijack topic split
 
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Cable for cooker hood 3 740 Sun Sep 09, 2007 10:02 pm
Cooker hood power cable; what is this thing? 9 280 Wed Sep 03, 2014 6:57 pm
concealing cooker hood cable 4 740 Thu May 06, 2010 6:03 pm
Is a 3core 6amp cable ok to feed a cooker hood? 3 100 Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:09 pm
cooker hood 5 3680 Sat Aug 26, 2006 8:09 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.